Ditmar Winners

The Ditmar Award winners were announced at the Australian Natcon yesterday evening. I can’t see an official announcement yet, but based on Twitter reports the winners are as follows:

  • Novel: Sea Hearts, Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin)
  • Novella or Novelette: “Sky”, Kaaron Warren (Through Splintered Walls)
  • Short Story: “The Wisdom of Ants”, Thoraiya Dyer (Clarkesworld 12/12)
  • Collected Work: Through Splintered Walls, Kaaron Warren (Twelfth Planet)
  • Artwork: Cover art, Kathleen Jennings, for Midnight and Moonshine (Ticonderoga)
  • Fan Writer: Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews in Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
  • Fan Artist: Kathleen Jennings, for body of work including “The Dalek Game” and “The Tamsyn Webb Sketchbook”
  • Fan Publication: The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
  • New Talent: David McDonald
  • William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review: Tansy Rayner Roberts, for “Historically Authentic Sexism in Fantasy. Let’s Unpack That.” (Tor.com)

Also announced at the ceremony (but Not A Ditmar) were the following:

  • Norma K. Hemming Award: Sea Hearts, Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin)
  • Peter McNamara Lifetime Achievement Award: Nick Stathopoulos
  • A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement: Russell B Farr

I’m delighted to see a Clarkesworld story winning the short fiction category. Also I note that Karen Warren’s double-winning collection is available in a bookstore near you.

I look forward to seeing long, angry articles from male fans complaining that the Ditmars are “broken”, and blaming it all on Alisa Krasnostein with her radical lesbian separatist politics. 😉

Update: Added the Chandler Award. See Sean the Bookonaut for a Storify record of the ceremony.

2 thoughts on “Ditmar Winners

  1. I really love this list. Some great works have won awards. I loved sea heart and through splintered walls. I am really glad that the writer and the critic got an award. It’s a great podcast. TRRR really deserves her fan writer award and the William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review.

Comments are closed.